Industry Leadership Award

Terry Klopfenstein, Ph.D. – 2012 Recipient

Terry Klopfenstein, Ph.D., has established a legacy of innovative research and other scholarly work focused on ruminant nutrition. His tenure at the University of Nebraska started in 1965 after completing his bachelor's, master's, and doctorate degrees from The Ohio State University. Terry held the University of Nebraska Wagner Professorship from 1989 to 2007. Over the years, he has mentored a vast number of students, including the 125 students who completed his feedyard internship.

Terry's passion and dedication to education and the beef community can been seen in his years of service and contributions to advancing our industry. He has been honored multiple times for his work within the cattle industry and with the next generation of production agriculture professionals. He has received the FASS-AFIA New Frontiers in Animal Nutrition Award, the Morrison Award from the American Society of Animal Science, the American Society of Animal Science Distinguished Teacher Award and many more. He has served as president for the American Society of Animal Science, the Midwest American Society of Animal Science, and Federated Animal Science Societies.

Terry is considered to be one of the most productive animal science pioneers. Fortunately for the cattle-feeding community, he is still committed to the future of cattle feeding.

< Back to Recipients